Can you recommend crash bungs??

I have been down on my R&G crash bungs three times now and to be honnest they are of no help whatsoever! They damage they cause would be the same if I didn’t have them at all! They bend over so the bolt is bent in the spacer sleeve so you cannot remove them and that means the fairing is trapped so the only way to sort it is to either replace the fairing or cut it out which completely defeats the whole point of having them! And on my last hit the bolt head is so destroyed it’s going to be a pain getting the bolt out. See my attachment to see what I mean - Sorry I’m no graphic designer!!!

So has anybody had real slides with other makes of frame protectors which they could recomend? I’m running a '99 CBR6.

As I say I’ve had to ‘use’ them 3 times and each time they have not save me anything and in one of the crashes caused 100% more damage than if I didn’t have them on there at all!! I have written to R&G not complaining but asking for their recomendations.

Attachments

Rockingham Slide CrashBung 02.JPG

Rockingham Slide CrashBung 03.JPG

Crash Bung Broken.jpg

nice pics!! (better than i could do!!)

as for the bungs!! i always understood that RnGs where the best out there! it might just be the case that with your slides they have caught on somthing and the bolt has bent rather than “flip” your bike over! dunno really! maybe you have just been unlucky in these circumstances!!

why not get a stunt cage fitted!!! if its been down three times, it might be worth it!! just kidding!!

R&G’s are not there to protect you fairing, but the extremely costly damage to engines and obviously frames. Yes they bend…but that stops them from snapping like other bungs out there. Also they have compression sleeve unlike most…yes its a pisser, but its still cheaper than a re-build

ALSO most other bungs availlable for your bike bolt onto the frame spar…which writes your bike off when you lob it.