Buying my first bike!

Hi everyone!

I’m a veteran pillion passenger who’s finally making the jump on the front seat.

I have big expectations…and a small frame. I’m 5.5” and quite short limbed, about 30” of inseam.

I have short listed a few bikes I’m interested into:

Honda rebel 500
Yamaha v-star 450 (do these even exist?)
Kawasaki Vulcan 650

Aside from the displacement (not sure I want to try and handle a 650 just yet), I am just not sure these are right for me. After chatting with the bikers in my life I’ve gathered the best thing to do would be have a sit on each of these and feel for myself.

Do you agree?
What else would you guys suggest?

If you agree, can you recommend any shops where I can go and try these?

Thanks a bunch!
G

1 Like

I am much shorter with 26" inseam and short arms to boot, so I know what you are going through, but the good news is you are taller than me so there will be more options.

I trained (and then brought) a BMW F700 GS, it is 760mm seat height - from all the research I have done, this is the shortest Adventure bike type on the market, it has a plank for a seat and low frame, I am still tippie toe, and it is very heavy and my hips regret it most of the time, but I enjoy driving it.

The other options was the Harley/cruiser types, I can flat foot them but again heavy and never appealed to me as a commuter.

But like I said you are a bit taller so you may have more luck, if you have anything adventurie and less than 760 do let me know, I’ll be right behind you in the line.

BTW the F700 is an 800cc engine, I think so long as you have solid clutch control and you’re not a speed demon you wont have any problems with a more powerful vehicle, I went straight from my 125 to it and believe me having that burst of power when you want it is gold.

Good luck

Thank you! I guess I’m lucky because I do dig the cruiser look :slight_smile: