buying my first bike... things to look out for??? i need advice

ok well… im new to this all so i have no idea what to do…
well im doing my CBT tomorrow and i should be buying a bike in a few weeks…
BUT WHAT DO I LOOK OUT FOR??? lol im confused
i know with sketchy looking bikes i should HPI it…
but i dont know much about bikes and non of my friends like bikes (damn cagers)

its just i dont want to end up buying a bike and getting ripped off.
someone please help me!!! lol
anyone up for coming with me to buy a bike?
ideally i want something small cause im only 5’7" ish (short ass)
i had my eye on the cbr125 or the van van

but yeah i need some advice
thanks in advance guys
pyro:)

I used these as a guide :slight_smile:

When you get your 125er, maybe we can meet up for a ride about :slight_smile: I’ve been riding for about 1 month.

http://www.clarity.net/~adam/buying-bike.html

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/BIKES/buy/top_10_tips.jsp

Some people say don’t use eBay, but I used it with extreme caution and got a pretty cheap bike from a very helpful chap, so I think it can be fine.

Perhaps post here about specific bikes and see what people think?

If you buy from a dealer you have consumer rights and you will get a warranty. If you buy privately you get jack sh1t and it’s guaranteed to the end of the sellers drive. Unless you know what you are doing or have a friend who is a mechanic I’d recommend buying from a dealer.

If you are looking at a cbr125 consider Honda finance. They can offer 0% over three years so for a CBR125 that’d be less than 100 pounds a month for a bike with a comprehensive warranty. If you can afford that it’s worth considering and more fun than fixing some old nail every time it goes wrong or a long list of parts that wear out one by one.

If you buy privately just make sure it has ideal mileage so below 30,000 miles on a 4-stroke. If it has the right service history its worth going for it.