Braided hoses???? how easy?

Just a quicky,

Ive been wanting to change all the lines on the bike for braided hoses. But the question is…

Whos done it before and how easy is it? I know of all the equipment I need and I’m reasonably handy as I’m an engineeer by trade. However ive never bled brakes before. Is this something you can do with relative experience or should I leave it to the know it alls? If so how much would it cost me to have em fitted if I buy them myself? ballpark figures?

:ermm:

I fitted them on my r6 no problem. Just buy a decent brake bleeding kit and you shouldn’t have any complications. If you do decide to get them installed by a garage, then your proberbly looking at an hours labour which can be anywhere between £40 and £80 depending where you go.

easy peasy, they are bolt on parts. bleeding the brakes is a pain in the arse, just needs patience.

It’s not that difficult to do, there’s a how to guide here:

http://www.totalmotorcycle.com/maintenance/brakes.htm

Just remember to wash off any spilled brake fluid straight away as it will damage the paint on the bike. If you have any problems then just post up on here and someone will tell you where you are going wrong:)

Very easy…I fitted Goodridge hoses to my R1.

Make sure you buy a complete packaged kit rather than make the mistake I did of buying the seperate components because they didn’t have the kit in stock.

Make sure you route the new hoses as per the OEM rubber hoses…Take your time…The bleeding of brake fluid takes the longest amount of time in my experience.

Torque all banjo bolts up to the manufacturers specification…I used the original bolt’s specs, but sometimes the aftermarket hose will have it’s own.

Test your brakes at very slow speed after the job is complete.

And don’t forget to replace the copper sealing washers on the banjo bolts as they should only be used once or they can leak.

excellent cheers boys! youve settled it! new hoses it is!