Boring question about M3 nuts

Rattled a tiny M3 nut off the light of my new tail tidy yesterday. Should have used a locknut ho hum… Went and bought a couple of M3 nuts from hardware shop but they don’t fit. They seem to have flat thread whereas I think I need a slightly inclined thread to fit the bolt. Does anyone know how many different types of M3 nut there are out there (!) and even which one I should be buying?? Ta very much :slight_smile:

I am no expert on nuts but the answer is to measure the distance in millimeters between the thread so you know the advance given by 360 degrees. A standard M3 advances 0.5mm and anything other than that will be described by appending x then the pitch in mm after the M3 (so M3x0.3 would be a an M3 screw that advances 0.3mm in 360 degrees). It doesn’t appear that there is a standard tight thread version of M3 though.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ISO_68-1

Thanks Guiliano- amazed that anyone has even attempted to answer this for me! Sadly, the nut in question is miniscule (3mm across) so I wouldn’t be physically able to measure the pitch of the thread. I was hoping there was maybe a ‘universal’ nylon-type nut that might fit?

Only cos I was tracking down a screw the otherday and found that Wikipedia entry that made things much clearer!

As for measuring the thread of a screw - get somethign thick, black and sticky, get it on the thread, then press it onto a piece of flat quality paper. It will be easier to measure the “hard copy” with a ruler, caliper etc.

If possible I find a nut that fits and take it to a proper fixings and fasteners supplier and they’ll find one to fit, or they’ll just simply identify it from the bolt. Much more knowledgeable than hardware stores I find. I used to sell to both so tend to know the difference.

Forgetting the niceties of measuring the thread pitch for the moment, there are only 3 common variations in use. In the trade they are known as metric fine, metric and metric coarse.