Bike servicing...

Hey…

AS i’m still very new to all this biking thing… jsut wandering about the following:

Bike servicing - when is it suggested to do it? as in number of miles:

1st = 500 miles

2nd = 4000 miles?

3rd = ?

etc…

plus… is it worth investing in the following?

1. K & N air filters with the idea of getting a full exhaust system (& power commander) later on to boost performance…

2. what sort of oil for recommended after 4000 miles… fully synthetic / semi?

3. is it worth taking off the fairing myself and then taking it to the shop to save a bit of cash… servicing time etc?

any money saving ideas are welcome… plus… recommended triumph dealers… the only one i know of in central / south london is metropolis…

whats the average charge for a service?

thanks in advance…

C

How new/old is your bike?

If its new then servicing has to be done by a dealer to keep the warranty valid. Or you could do the servicing and get a friend at the dealers to stamp your book for a drink.

Use semi synthetic if you use the bike on the road.

K&N, powercommander, full exhaust etc… all good as long as you get the bike dyno’d to get the fuelling right.

its the 05 daytona 650 - 6 months old…

so may have to take it to a dealer unfortunately and bend over and receive the full bill without lube unfortunately! love it when you get ripped off and they know that they are doing it the b%st$rds!

Think i’ll do all the other stuff in one go rather than a bit at a time… towards the beginning of spring when the bike is going to be back out on the twisties and on tracks again!

thanks

Go for semi synthetic oil in that.

As for dealers, there are not that many Triumph ones. Boyer Racing over in Woolwich area are apparently very good as are Jack lilly’s who I think are in the Shepperton area (surrey).

jack lillys have moved not far from shepperton to Ashford in middx just off the a308