Becoming a London Biker

I’ve had to move jobs recently due to big cuts in spending on Healthcare in the recent budgeting for this year. The only place where there are still jobs in what I do is the larger cities. I love London and have friends there but I am very concerned about keeping my motorbike in city.

I’ve heard a few horror stories about leaving things alone for five minutes and returning to nothing.

I’ve got a yamaha fazer 600 2002 and I love it to bits. I secure it with a heavy duty cover, chain, disc lock and alarm lock too. When I park it up at work I just use the alarmed boss disc lock. It’s very sensitive and goes off if you just touch the bike. I also sometimes use a lightweight cover to keep it covered too.

I’m gonna be living in Wood Green and working in Lambeth for the first few months at least. I’m bricking it about my pride and joy getting loaded into the back of some filthy scummer’s van. I’m new to big bikes so my insurance is still fairly high, a claim might put it up very high.

I love motorcycles and have always owned one since I’ve been working, from a moped aged 17 to various 125’s until I got my license. I don’t want to get rid of my bike at all, I enjoy owning one and riding it and would like to keep it, but the prospect of taking into London scares me. I know I shouldn’t be crying too much over the loss of 8 year old fazer, but it would really grate me to see it get knicked by some low-lifer.

there’s nothing wrong with loving your bike

Except physically, well according to EU regulations.

u only hear of the horrers what u dont see is the many thousands that nothing happens to.get a tracker or text alert then u will have peace of mind,but look at the bigger picture not just the stolen ones :slight_smile: