Be careful, you’re on camera

Just a friendly reminder that the dashcams we use In our cars to protect ourselves are also being used to dob in road offences as well.

It’s pretty obvious there are social benefits to this but it does make me cringe a little to think that someone might dob us in if we are seen to be having a little too much fun on our bikes!

Be careful!

https://twitter.com/surreyroadcops/status/1299367457400987648?s=21

Yes using cameras to cover yourself incase of insurance problems is a good idea. But lets be honest some of those people are just displaying cuntish behaviour. Going through a red light, welll that’s never a good idea.

Perhaps if the repeated governments of the last 20 years had not decided that policing by static camera was a great idea we’d have more traffic police who would actually police the roads properly.

2 Likes

Chaps, some of you know I am a solicitor. I can tell you I’ve seen a 300% increase in dashcam recorded offences…!

Before I overtake on the motorcycle now… I always check for a dashcam. Front or rear facing.

If you see one. Don’t bother. Police forces are prosecuting some of the most ridiculous, non issue offences I have seen. It is great to moan about it afterwards but it is not fun when you’re sat before the Magistrates answering such a charge.

3 Likes

As much as dash cams can be a pain, every one of those drivers in the clip deserved to he prosecuted fir the way they drove.

My biggest issue from that is the inconsistency of the prosecution, how come the first one who nearly hit the cyclist only gets a driver awareness course but others get six points and £800+ fines?

4 Likes

The inconsistency is shocking. The first incident is a plonker nearly wiping someone out. The plonker was completely in the wrong, no extenuating circumstances. Had the dice rolled one second earlier that would have been a human life snuffed out. He/she got an awareness course!