Battery overcharging

I’ve noticed in the last couple of months that it would take longer holding the starter button to start the engine, but didn’t do anything about it. Recently when I was fiddling with the horn, I had to turn the ignition on and off about 10times to test it. When I finished and tried to start the engine, there wasn’t enough juice left. So, I charged the battery fully with optimate overnight. Was riding fine since then for a couple of weeks (30min commute to work, and then back), though it did feel again that it would take longer and longer for the starter to turn the engine (could be in my head).

Finally, decided to check the battery with a multimeter (attached picture - engine and ignition off, the battery wasn’t charged for 12 hours). I’m no expert, but that looks wayyy too much? Also, not sure if that’s normal, but the reading actually started around 15V and then slowly (30-60seconds) climbed to the figure in the photo were it remained more or less constant. Checked as well @5000rpm according to Haynes manual, which suggests it should be 14-15.5V, mine was more like 15-16V.

The battery is at least 3 years old (could be far more, but that’s when I bought the bike, and have no service history). I have no issue just buying a new battery, but from what I read on the internet an overcharged battery is likely to be caused by a faulty rectifier-regulator. I found the diode test for the rectifier-regulator plugs in the manual, would that be sufficient to prove if it is at fault for overcharging? How likely is it that the alternator is the culprit?

Attachments

photo_upload.jpg

Would suggest a new battery in multimeter first … low power of measuring instruments can give incorrect readings

If engine off should be a reading of 11.8v-12.8v +/- 10%
I would tend to look for Engine on should give a max (stable)reading of 14.8v 

Would suggest a new battery in multimeter first ... low power of measuring instruments can give incorrect readings TimR