Anyone got any advice...Millenium Falcon is playing up already!

The ancient Blue “you cross the Universe in THAT?” ZX9R that I am currently the very proud owner of is playing up and I wondered if there are any Kwakker owners…or even just slightly old sports bike owners on here that can advise…?

2000 ZX9R E1 - Yesterday, riding through London traffic, the temp starts to rocket. I know I was doing some periods of slow riding with engine revs, and when I started riding again, getting air through her, the temp did come down.

HOWEVER, this is mid winter…ok its not freezing, but when sitting at lights the temp was shooting up really quick to over 104-105 and kicking the fan in. If this is mid winter and she’s doing this, she’s gonna be much worse in the summer. So my question is

Is this a prob, or is this normal? Can anyone tell me normal operating temps so I’m less nervous when the needle crosses the 100C mark?

Anyone…

Ta, TobyWan

In the big book of Falcon Repair the temps are

Fan on at 96c to 100c

Fan off at 91c these are for both the C and E models

And the Falcon factory say temp anywhere between 60c to 100c depends on use

Cheers Mick, I saw those, but is the temp goin so high in winter not-too heavy traffic conditions normal. Christ if she’s overheating now…what’s she gonna be like come summer time?

What sort of temps should I be looking out for that would indicate trouble if 104-105 is acceptable operating and nothing to worry bout?

When ya get a bit of time ya might wanna give the cooling system a flush out and change the blue stuff.

Is she still under the shops wing if she is get them to have a look at her as accoring to Kawasaki 105c is hot as they say 60c to 100c approx

Mine used ta get hot n bovvered I flushed the system and changed the coolant now alot better

She’s second hand.
I gotta a 3 month warranty which runs til April ish, so I’m shaking her down whilst I’ve still got access to that…