Any project managers on here? Advice on Prince2 Vs. APM Qualifications?

Helloo,

There seems to be alot of Construction, IT, Energy etc industry professionals on here and I’m going to hazard a guess that some of you have experience in project management and have undertaken accredited training.

I’m a sales and administration manager in the private sector but am finding myself increasingly getting involved with substantial “business change/improvement” projects with no training and next to no guidance or expectations.

I want to undertake some training to learn to be able to tackle these projects/tasks in a methodical and thorough fashion and show others involved a better way of working on them as well. (I’d also like to get recommendations on industry standard software to manage ongoing projects.)

At the moment it’s all quite shambolic and it’s stressing me out! I’m getting confused by conflicting reviews on Prince2 and training websites overloaded with acronyms and jargon, I just want to understand the best place to start! ha

Has anyone done Prince2 or APM qualifications? Recommendations or alternative courses?

Appreciate any advice!

Thanks

I did Prince2 about 15 years ago. Never used it and was the most boring driest 5 day training I ever did.

I’m a construction project manager and all the ‘management training’ I’ve done has been painfully boring and ultimately useless. Technical training is often just as boring but much more useful (and sometimes you get to play with building site toys). A straw poll of the 3 other PMs nearby confirmed that none of them have done, or considered either of the courses you’ve mentioned.

Possibly a slightly skewed result as we’re not known for our corporate outlook, construction PMs tend to come from a more technical background and have a more technical/practical outlook, or maybe all the guys who did Prince2 have been promoted above us and are now directors.