accidents- when and where?

With so many people coming off lately, i was just wondering, whats general opinion on accidents?

is it seen as something thats inevitable as a biker, a case of when and where?

or something that need never happen if your careful enough ? can you ever be careful enough?

And replying to this is, of course, gonna put the mockers on for sure!!

NO COMMENT LoL LoL

I deal with accidents every day as part of my job (I pursue insurance claims for a living). I have found there are three simple rules to trying to avoid accidents:-

1. Do not attempt to ride beyond the limits of your capabilites, rarely will there be any body (except maybe chuffster) whose bikes are not more capable then they are.

2. Vigilence at all times, loads of observations all over, shoulder checks and mirror usage would avoid a lot of accidents, but in the same vein look where your going, its amazing how quickly the ABS can bring that wheeled wardrobe in front of you to a rapid halt.

3. Expect every one around you to do something stupid or wrong, that way you can be pleasently surprised when it doesn’t happen, rather then shocked when it does.

And just for Toby use the force.

Ditto

Talk to a bike cop, IAM instructor, etc and they will say most accidents can be avoided. Talk to the people that have been knocked off, and most will say that they couldn’t avoid it. This debate has been going on for a long time, and people who have been hit get quite upset when you tell them they could have avoided their accident.

Looking at my own incident last week when I got rear ended - if I had been more aware and checked my mirrors, I could probably have seen it coming. I’ll never know if I could have avoided it though?

For me, its a case of when and where. Then the important bit, am I going to be able to get up and keep going? Having had 6 offs in the last 12 months, I am getting used to it.

That’s on the track tho folks, don’t panic.