A way to fix congestion in London...

I been thinking about this one for awhile, and taking note each morning, when I ride in rush hour, and I have drawn the conclusion that doing just one simple thing will bring about a massive change to the amount of congestion in London between 6am-10am and 4pm-8pm.

1, Ban Lorries during that 8 hour period.

There is no good reason for that many lorries to be on London’s roads that early in the morning. Deliver after 10am.

I would enforce it like this, massive fine for the company about £2,000 plus £200 fine for the driver and 3 points on the Managing Directors driving licence…not the lorry driver’s licence, the Managing Director of the Company’s licence.

I think everyone would see an improved drive/ride to work.

To be honest im not sure banning lorry’s @ set hours is fair i work in the construction industry & we use a timed delivery method for all delivery’s throughout the day and if they was banned in the above hours it would add to cost & make logistics extremely hard to organise

the true solution would be infrastructure that’s includes both public transport & fixing potholes blah blah blah

Have I got this right

The idea is to ban the traffic that causes the congestion during the congested hours :ermm:

Doesn’t that just shift the congested hours to outside of your commute time frame :wink:

Or how about allowing cars with more than one occupant to use bus lanes?

What I really don’t understand is rubbish collection vans… I mean they really have to get the one van on the road that is slower than others and stops every 5 metres, with men walking around it at the precise time all of London/ UK tried to get to work and school?

I’m also in favour of banning parents driving their kids to school… I mean just look at half term how empty the roads are.

a safe, reliable school bus service would make a huge difference

I concur with banning the trucks. would reduce the amount of cyclist deaths too.