Join LBLogin
london's home of biking

Results in for World’s First TTXGP

By: | Published 12 June 2009, 15:23 | Views: 3,475 | tags: ttxgp, egrandprix, results, best buy pro, open, agni x01, rob barber, electric motorsport, chris heath, isle of man
The electric bikes competing in the TTXGP, the world’s first zero carbon eGrandPrix, have completed the race. In the BEST BUY PRO Class, UK/India-based team Agni with rider Rob Barber secured first place with a time of 25mins 53secs and an average speed of 87.434mph. In the OPEN class US based electric motorsport secured the win with rider Chris Heath secured first place with a time of 34mins 17secs and an average speed of 66.022 mph.
Second and third place in the BEST BUY PRO Class were secured by the German XXL Racing Team with rider Thomas Schoenfelder (time: 29mins 04secs/average speed 77.841mph) and the US-based Brammo Bike with rider Mark Buckley (time: 30mins 2secs/average speed: 75.350mph), respectively.
In the OPEN Class, second and third places were secured by US based Barefoot Motors with rider Chris Petty (time: 36mins 23secs/average speed: 62.219mph) and team TORK from India with rider John Crellin (37mins 26secs/average speed: 60.475mph).  
Full race results
Pos 1   AGNI X01 (Rob Barber) – Time: 25:53:50 – Speed: 87.434
Pos 2   XXL Racing Team (Thomas Schoenfelder) – Time: 29:04:93 – Speed: 77.841
Pos 3   Brammo (Mark Buckley) – Time: 30:02:64 – Speed: 75.350
Pos 4   Mission Motors (Thomas Montano) – Time: 30:33:26 – Speed: 74.091
Pos 5   HTBlauva (Paul Dobbs) – Time: 36.10.63 – Speed: 62.575
Pos 6   Brunel X-team (Stephen Harper) – Time: 56:27:89 – Speed: 40.092
OPEN Class
Pos 1   Electric Motorsport (Chris Heath) – Time: 34:17:30 – Speed: 66.022
Pos 2   Barefoot Motors (Chris Petty) – Time: 36:23:06 – Speed: 62.219
Pos 3   TORK (John Crellin) – Time: 37:26:01 – Speed: 60.475
(Speed=Average speed)
The overall result of the inaugural TTXGP, as recorded by time keepers, has been confirmed by the Race Management team from ACU Events Ltd. Two riders, Chris Heath (Electric Motorsport) and Paul Dobbs (HTBlauva), who were originally disqualified, were unaware that they were required to sound horns while racing under yellow flags and the overall result was not in any way influenced by their actions.
Azhar Hussain, founder of the TTXGP:
“Today represents the culmination of an incredibly long journey to the world’s first zero carbon eGrandPrix. The teams, riders and all those involved in making this event possible have worked tirelessly to make the TTXGP the reality it has become today. Together we have proved that zero carbon transport technology has the capability to thrill motor racing fans and is ready for application in the real world.”
Simon Maddison, Chairman IET Technical Panel, who are technical advisors to TTXGP
“It’s been a long road to get us to the starting line. No-one could have imagined how the journey would be – 10 months of hard work from our panel but the equivalent of 20 months input from the teams. Everyone who has made it to the Isle of Man has to be congratulated – it has really re-created the pioneering spirit of the TT. To say, it has been a historic moment would be an understatement. To say, it is watching the technology of the future is a statement.”
Video footage of the TTXGP, video interviews with team members and photography can be found on the TTXGP website at:

1 Comment

Leave Your Comment!

» Register now to leave comments! It only takes a few seconds...
TAGRP | 12 June 2009, 21:19
What happened to MotoCZYSZ???
Our weekly bike-meet at Borough Market Stolen Vehicle Database - help fight bike crime! Like Out Race Photography? Buy Prints Online Then!